|Find out all about Le Rayol-Canadel. Tourist information, map, calendar, accommodation. The med tours - Workshops - Natural cosmetics - Aromatherapy... programme for Domaine du Rayol. Located to the far west of the Massif des Maures coast, 10 Km from Le Lavandou, the seaside holiday resort of Le Rayol (750 inhabitants) was created as an extension to the commune of La Môle in 1925 by the "Compagnie d'Entreprise Immobilière or Terre de France", covering around 300 hectares and including five neighbourhoods: Rayol, Canadel, Le Fenouillet, Le Dattier and Les Pierrugues. Major development work was carried out: roads, steps, gardens, hotels, tennis courts, the "Pergola du Patek", a jetty on the beach, a recreation of a Provençal village and even the construction of a small marina. It was only on 30 August 1949, by prefectural decree, that the commune became independent from La Môle. The Pergola du Patek and monumental steps have been listed Historic Monuments since 1989. Originally, these steps built between 1925 and 1927 went up to the Rocher du Drapeau (150m), a rock with the French flag flying on top of it. Built from mica schist stones extracted from the quarries of Le Rayol, these steps enabled residents to access the beaches at a time when roads and cars were not yet in widespread use. Nowadays, only the "Escalier du Centre" steps and the “Degrés de la Mer” still exist, which still lead visitors to the beaches of Le Rayol. Le Domaine du Rayol, owned by the Conservatory of the Coast, a magnificent botanical garden open to visitors, is an exceptional collection of plants and rare species from the Mediterranean Basin. In the summer time, discover the sea path and music nights in the illuminated gardens. There’s also a panoramic view from the Rocher du Drapeau and a fairytale view on Hyères islands from heights of Canadel.